Music: Fugue.
From the Quintet in G Minor for violins, viola, cello, and piano
By Dmitri Shostakovich.
Sequenced by Dmitri Bachovich, at Kunst der Fuge.

Subscribe to this site on YouTube

Subscribe to get a poem sent to you each day by email

Read a dramatization of the Mueller Report

Alpha List

Number Poems

About This

Poems for

Copyright by

Ninety-nine enjoys a bit of sun,
Installed upon the terrace in her chair.
Nestled in her heavy woolen coat,
Extra-heavy scarf tucked round her throat,
The tiny figure relishes the air,
Yielding to a moment come undone.
Now she cannot feel the current run;
Inside, the heart holds still, just barely there.
Nothingness and being become one
Even as the end remains remote.

Copyright by Nicholas Gordon

[about this site] [poems for free] [poem of the day]
[site policy] [about me] [links]