Music: Fugue in F Minor.
By Dimitri Shostakovich. Sequenced by J. Marques.

Subscribe to this site on YouTube

Subscribe to get a poem sent to you each day by email

Read a dramatization of the Mueller Report

Alpha List

Number Poems

About This

Poems for

Copyright by
Nicholas Gordon

Sixty-six sits quietly at home,
Immersed in the sweet turpitude of time.
Xylophones play softly in the wind,
The chattering of children in their chime,
Yet distant, as though faintly on the phone.

So does nostalgia come into its own,
Innocent as passion in its prime,
X-ing out the truths it would rescind.

Copyright by Nicholas Gordon. Free for personal or non-commercial use.

[about this site] [poems for free] [poem of the day]
[site policy] [about me] [links]